So Sunday I woke up at the ass crack of dawn, coffee in hand and decided to start cooking up a storm!

My goal was to jam pack my freezer with a few basics so make my life easier during the week.

What I made:

-Spaghetti Sauce

-Black Beans

-Brown Rice

-Shortcake (wasn’t for freezer, but I got some massive strawberries at the store on Saturday so I couldn’t resist)

-An experimental breakfast casserole (Details to come, still working)

What I did…

Spaghetti Sauce

  • 3 large cans of 26ish oz Crushed Tomato’s
  • 1 small jar 15ish oz of Tomato Paste
  • LOTS of Italian seasoning (I just kept putting it in- probably close to 3-4Tbsp.)
  • Garlic to your taste, I forgot to get fresh so I used a few tsp. of garlic powder (I would have used 3-4 cloves, if I had fresh)
  • 2-3 tsp. Sugar
  • 1 pound ground turkey, browned
  • Ground pepper, to taste

1. Brown turkey (or any ground meat of choice)

2. Pour all tomato products into large pot and put over medium heat, throw in some italian seasoning, stir and let it start to warm through

3. Once the turkey is browned, drain and add to the tomato products

4. Add seasonings to taste

5. Turn up the heat and let it come up to a bubble, then cover and drop down the heat and let it simmer about 2 hours, stirring occasionally

6. Let the sauce cool down and put in freezer bags for later!

TIP: Once you fill your freezer bags put them flat on a cookie sheet and put in the freezer, they will take up way less space that way.

Black Beans

*I got these instructions from the 5dollar dinners cooking tutorials*

All you need is a bag of dried beans, a large bowl of hot water and a large pot for simmering!  Plus freezer bags, this makes A LOT!

P.S. I got number 1 grade… not sure about number 2 grade…

1. Put beans in a large bowl and cover with about 2 inches of hot water, let it sit on the counter for at least 2 hours (that’s what I did), but overnight is ideal

2. Remove any beans that float to the top

3. Drain and rinse with cold water

4. Put beans in large pot and cover with about 2 inches of water, bring to a boil, then drop the heat down to medium, cover and let simmer about 1.5 hours (until the beans are soft)

5. Drain and let the beans cool down before putting in freezer bags

Brown Rice

Simple, just follow package instructions!

Bring 10 cups of water to a boil, add rice, cover and drop the heat to low, stir periodically.   Takes about 45 minutes.

TIP: Let rice cool completely before freezing to avoid weird-textured-rice-syndrome 😉

Strawberry Shortcake

I love making this, so simple, yet so delicious!

This is the good ‘ole recipe from the bisquick box

  • 2.5 Cups Bisquick
  • .5 Cup Milk
  • 3 Tbsp Sugar
  • 3 Tbsp butter (melted)

Mix the ingredients together and put in a greased 9 inch pie pan. I usually dust the top with a little bit of extra sugar

Bake at 425 for about 12 minutes

We usually eat this with  a little bit of  milk poured over the shortcake, a little more sugar and of course strawberries!

THE AFTERMATH…

