Well we are again faced with record-breaking snow, so what does that mean?

Yes, you guessed it!

Cook your ass off!

So without further ado, I give you…

Chicken Pesto Fettucini.

Ingredients:

  • About 2 cups of Shredded Chicken (I made a whole cut up chicken in the slow cooker during blizzard #1 using Erin from 5$ Dinners cooking tutorial.  Thanks, Erin! )
  • I box of Penne Pasta (bought on sale, of course!)
  • I jar of Fettuccine sauce*
  • I small jar (4ish ounces) Pesto*

*If i wasn’t completely and utterly exhausted from shoveling and I had the ingredients I might have made these myself*

Side Items:

  • I loaf of bread
  • Some roasted grape tomatoes would be great, but alas, we didn’t have any   But if  YOU do, put tomatoes in a pan, with olive oil, salt+pepper, and garlic. Put over medium-ish heat and let them soften up, then use a potato masher to pop them and just let them hang out while the rest of the meal finishes cooking.

*Typically I would serve some veggies with dinner, BUT we were runnin a little low in the fresh produce dept. AND we are carb-loading for snow-excavation! *

Assemble your ingredients:

Get some H2O boiling!

The chicken is already cooked, so cooking the pasta is the most labor intenstive part of the recipe!

(If by chance you didn’t have 2 cups of shredded chicken laying around now you could poach some chicken and shred. 😉

While your waiting for the water to boil put your shredded chicken in a skillet and dump pesto in there and stir!

Once water is boiling, dump pasta and cook to al dente, about 12 minutes.

Toss, well maybe tossing isn’t a good idea- Put a loaf of bread in the oven to toast it up a bit

So now you have some free time on your hands!

FIT TIP: Do some exercises in your kitchen!  A few curls with that jar of fettuccini that you haven’t opened yet is perfect!

This may sound strange, but what the heck else would you have used those few minutes for?

Now I KNOW some of you are thinking. Umm Liz a 16oz jar isn’t exactly sweat-inducing.

And your right, but try doing 50 or so and get back to me, you won’t be sweating, but your arms will thank you.

Also use this time for pouring yourself a glass of wine, you deserve it!

BACK  TO THE RECIPE! (I’m sorry I go off on A LOT of tangents!)

Dump Pasta in strainer and return to pot.

Add your chicken+pesto mixture into pasta and give it a stir.

Pour in your jar of fettuccini sauce. or if your an over-achiever, or Rachel Ray pour your hommmade sauce right on in there!

Stir til it looks well mixed.


Get your loaf of bread out of the oven.

(Use oven mitts Trust me on this one!)

ENJOY!

This made enough for 2 dinners for D and myself, and we are not shy when it comes to pasta!

**If you don’t devour your entire loaf of bread use it the next day to make some french toast, for some reason Italian bread makes the best french toast**

